20-Point Programme


Twenty Point Programme (TPP) The Twenty Point Programme (TPP) was launched by the Government of India in 1975. The programme was first revised in 1982 and again in 1986. Over the years, the need for restructuring the Programme has been felt in the light of our achievements and experiences, as well as the introduction of several new policies and programmes by the Government of India. Although the TPP has been in existence for the last 30 years, it is still relevant today as the desired objectives of eradication of poverty and improvement in the quality of life of the common man have yet to be completely attained. TPP-1986 has now been restructured in 2006, keeping in view the challenges of the 21st Century with particular reference to the ongoing process of economic reforms, liberalization and globalization of the Indian Economy. The programmes and schemes under the TPP-2006 are in harmony with the priorities contained in the National Common Minimum Programme (NCMP). It renews the nation's commitment to eradicating poverty, raising productivity, reducing income inequalities and removing social and economic disparities. The original nomenclature, namely Twenty Point Programme, which has been in existence for the past three decades, and carries the stamp of familiarity among the people and administrative agencies, has been retrained. Many of the items of the programme are monitored and reviewed at International fora like the UN Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and the SAARC Social Charter. The United Nations Millennium Declaration of 2000 made a strong commitment to the right to development, to peace and security, to gender equality, to the eradication of many dimensions of poverty and to sustainable human development. These are known as the eight Millennium Development Goals (MDG). These 8 MDGs involve 18 time bound targets and 48 quantitative indicators. The restructure Twenty Point Programme (TPP)-2006 was approved by the Cabinet in 2006.These 20 Points comprises of 65 items which are synonyism with the programmes/ schemes being administered by various Ministries/ Departments of the Government of India. The monitoring mechanism became operational w.e.f. April. 2007.


Points/Items of TPP-2006 The list of 20 Points of TPP-2006 is as under:

1. GaribiHatao [Poverty Eradication]

2. Jan Shakti [Power to People]

3. Kisan Mitra [Support to Farmers]

4. Shramik Kalyan [Labour Welfare]

5. Khadya Suraksha [Food Security ]

6. Subke Liye Aawas [Housing for All]

7. Shudh Peya Jal [Clean Drinking Water]

8. Jan Jan Ka Swasthya [Health for All]

9. Sabke Liye Shiksha [Education for All]

10. Anusuchit Jaati, Jan Jaati, Alp-sankhyak evam Anya Pichhra Varg Kalyan [Welfare of Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, Minorities and OBCs]

11. Mahila Kalyan [Women Welfare]

12. Bal Kalyan [Child Welfare]

13. Yuva Vikas [Youth Development]

14. Basti Sudhar [Improvement of Slums]

15. Paryavaran Sanrakshan evam Van Vridhi [Environment Protection and Afforestation]

16. Samajik Suraksha [Social Security]

17. Grameen Sadak [Rural Roads]

18. Grameen Oorja [Energization of Rural Area]

19. Pichhara Kshetra Vikas [Development of Backward Areas]

20. e- Shasan [IT enabled e-Governance]